Tiny sun house project begins

19 Jul

I credit Jay Shafer of Tumbleweed Tiny Houses (and especially the Yahoo! story on him) with popularizing the small stick-built-house-on-a-trailer movement. Seeing his beautiful creations was the inspiration for my project. Thank you, Jay!

Jay’s personal preferences include gravity water systems and a small under-counter fridge. My preference for a home does not include sacrificing such conveniences.

My criteria:

  • a bathtub, not just a shower
  • a sink in the bathroom
  • a walk-in closet or changing room for getting dressed in privacy and for easy access to stored clothing
  • a house wide enough that six or more people could sit in the great room around a dinner table
  • at least two private areas (rooms or lofts)
  • can sleep two couples comfortably full time with room for a third couple to sleep over
  • no need to stoop over to access a dorm room fridge beneath a counter
  • a large freezer and a large refrigerator
  • a convection oven and a microwave oven
  • two cooktop burners
  • higher water pressure than a basic gravity system
  • windows in every room

I know Jay Shafer has put a lot of work into maximizing space in his designs’ floorplans and there doesn’t seem to be much on the table so I know I have a challenge ahead of me.

2 Responses to “Tiny sun house project begins”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strategy: Plan, then buy, then build. « Tiny Sun House Blog - September 20, 2010

    […] Also, I do not want to just charge ahead and begin building a house only to later make compromises or have problems that could have been avoided in the planning stage, so before I begin construction or acquiring materials I’m going to work to try to meet all my criteria. […]

  2. Here we go! « Tiny Sun House Blog - February 27, 2012

    […] I’ve finally sorted out my design and have successfully met all my criteria. […]

Leave a Reply

