Front and rear windows for tiny sun house

21 Sep

Today I went to ReStore in Azusa, CA and found windows for the front and rear of my tiny house. $5 a piece!

On the way there I picked up a nice apartment fridge (5′ high, a bit narrower than a normal fridge) off Craigslist’s free section. I won’t be using it as I’ll be using a chest fridge (see other posts), so I will either sell it or donate it to the monks at Pine Valley Buddhist Temple if they are still in need.

As I pulled up to get the fridge, there was a nice front door laying on the curb in front of the next house, which struck me as odd because the house and grounds were well-groomed and in very good shape. I stuck the door in my truck on top of the fridge, to donate to ReStore.

I also got a microwave/convection oven for $15 off Craigslist. It’s a microwave that also has electrical heating elements and is a pretty good size, it will serve as both a regular oven and a microwave, without taking up as much space as both.

2 Responses to “Front and rear windows for tiny sun house”

  1. Joy October 25, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Are you still looking to sell the fridge? If so, how much were you planning on selling it for? I plan on having a somewhat larger fridge in my tiny house. 5′ sounds just about the size I’m looking for. I’d hate to take it away from the monks though, if they need it.

    • tinysunhouse October 25, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      I gave it and another two away. But I got them all free off Craigslist and Freecycle so I highly recommend looking there and just waiting it out. They come up about once a week.

      I also highly recommend something bigger than a tiny cube fridge. Cube fridges can’t hold tall bottles, and are super limited. Beer fridges (like the one under the counter in the current gallery of Fencl pics here: http://www.tumbleweedhouses.com/houses/fencl/) and apartment sized fridges are a way better choice and hold just the right about of perishables for one or two people. And they take up barely any more space, and it’s vertical space, not floor space.

      For me, a small fridge on a countertop is the perfect height (I can never understand why modern fridges aren’t higher off the ground) and location for a tiny house. You use the fridge multiple times a day so it’s much more comfortable up at eye level more like a normal fridge, than having to bend down under the counter. The under-counter area is then used for storage of things you don’t use daily.

      In a Fencl I would put the small fridge on the counter to the right of the sink, and move the cooktop to the left of the sink.

Leave a comment